top of page

Gabby Barrett: American Idol, Growing up as a Yinzer, and more!


Like a wildfire, Gabby Barrett is blazing a trail in the music industry. Since the age of 9, Gabby has made it a point to sing whenever and wherever she can. Gabby Barrett is from the Munhall area of Pittsburgh where she grew up alongside her 7 brothers and sisters. “I have the best family/support system in the world. My family is beyond excited for me right now,” Gabby said with pure excitement. Not only does Gabby have the support of her family, but she has the support of Pittsburgh. They don’t call us the city of “ChampYINZ” for nothing! It means a great deal to her that she has such a huge support system. She said it makes doing what she does even more enjoyable.

“I first started singing in a gospel choir. I worked with them for about 2 years. That is where a lot of my soul comes from,” Gabby said. She enjoys singing all genres of music, but finds the most of herself and her voice in country. “Carrie Underwood is definitely my favorite singer. I love singing her songs, because of the soul she has in her voice. I would say ‘Last Name’ is one of my favorite songs by her to sing," she said.

Gabby has had the opportunity to sing at many venues around the Pittsburgh area. From Light Up Night Downtown to Heinz Field, she has spread her voice to all parts of the city. She has always been an active member of the Pittsburgh community by singing at Children’s Hospital and for benefit events around the city. Although Gabby has done so much around Pittsburgh, her voice is bigger than just one city. She was so excited when she found out American Idol was coming back on television. “It has always been my dream to be on American Idol. I mean, American Idol is THE singing show," Gabby said. She then went on to telling me about how the whole process has been thus far. Before her initial audition, Gabby was casted by a group of producers and invited to audition in Nashville. From there she was presented with the opportunity to audition in front of the panel of judges (Katy Perry, Lionel Richie, and Luke Bryan). The episode with Gabby’s audition was aired on March 25th, where she received a Golden Ticket, securing her spot on the show!

The next episode featured Gabby during the “Group Round” of Hollywood Week. “The biggest struggle for me so far has been the Group Round. It was so hectic. Pure insanity. We had ONE NIGHT to figure the song out and perfect it. I have always struggled with harmonies, but I had to do what I had to do,” Gabby explained. This past Monday’s episode showed the Group Rounds, where Gabby proved that she was a force to be reckoned with. Her Group Performance advanced her to the final round of Hollywood Week, where she will perform a solo piece. Sadly, Gabby was not able to comment on any further information regarding the show until the episodes air. Therefore, you must tune in to see the continuation of Gabby Barrett’s journey on American Idol. The episodes air Sundays and Mondays at 8:00 PM EST on ABC.

I asked Gabby what her plans were after Idol, and she responded by saying, “A lot of people have been asking me this question. Do I have plans for college? What’s next? I talked to my dad about this a lot, and honestly the only thing that is next is singing. Plan A is to sing. Plan B is Plan A. That will always be what it is until I am where I need to be in the music industry.” American Idol is just a stepping stone for this girl, she is a rising star and will not stop until she gets to the top. Her passion and dedication to music has started at such a young age, and is not stopping.

Gabby will be at the Dave & Busters in Homestead for a Meet and Greet on April 2nd (tonight) from 7:00 PM- 9:00 PM. She is looking forward to celebrating and reconnecting with those who have supported her and her journey. Be sure to get on down to Dave & Busters to meet the potential Next American Idol! Gabby has also been actively sharing her Idol journey on her Instagram: @gabbybarrett_ and her Facebook Page: @gabbybarrett5. Also, do not forget to tune into American Idol on Sundays and Mondays at 8:00 PM to cheer on our Pittsburgh girl!

bottom of page